A word from a former cabin crew

Dear Dragana,
Thnak you so much for you inexhaustable energy and for your continous strife to provide an open platform for EK employees and management to voice their opinion and concerns.
Being an ex-CC myself through the years of 2008-2011 I saw the company going into a steep decline regarding treatment to employees and working environment.What started off as a tolerable and oftentimes joyful experience quiclky desintegrated into a farce and borderline human rights abuse, with extended and physicaly impossible to handle working hours.The on-board seniors lost their sense of judgement (what I believe their primar role should be) and started thriving on humiliation, intimidation and exploitation of the crew , doing very little themselves.I consider all those negative chages a direct result from poor comany HR management and policy.That is not to say I have not met wonderful people, I have, and to this day I remember their faces, names and the flights they made so much better.But those were more of an exeption among countless desperate employees.

To summarize my experience I would like to say that I saw most of my fellow CC friends become more and more bitter and by the time I left after merely 2 years and half of service, most of them have left or escaped Dubai.There were various reasons for our dissatisfaction, but none of them was weakness of character or imposibility to tolerate high workload and demands.It was the feeling of being disposable, replaceable, undervalued and under constant threat of punishement.Sometimes, just like Laura, I wonder :”Was it all in my mind?”.But I learned to believe myself better.I grew in many ways.I had wonderful and horrible times during my stint in the sandpit, but I am not looking back. I am generally very grateful for the chance to experience being a cogwheel in the mincing machine that EK turned out to be, to face the modern day slavery in a subdued manner upon myself and to witness it infliced in all its power to the poor souls of the South Asian labourers.I am grateful, but I will never have respect for a company and country built on bones, blood and lies.I know the wonderlust and the need for financial security that lure so many people into this job. Yes, they say the grass is greener on the other side, but there is no grass to speak of in Dubai whatsoever.

Cabin crew's comment

Cabin crew’s comment

I am having a very good after-life since I resigned, I am lucky enough to have found a new job as a teacher, where I feel the rewards for my effort on daily basis, I go to school with a genuine smile on my face and I enjoy being entrusted with the power to control my working process without constant supervision, sleepless nights and days and heart palpitations caused by extreme stress. I am free from the strain of maintaining a long-distace relationship and all the sadness it contributed to my existence in EK.
I do miss the cheap and affordable staff tickets, I do pay rent and utilities now and I don’t get to see my friends on the 5 continents as often, but overall it is a huge positive change. Whenever I travel, I do so with leisure, relaxation and without urgency, and I no longer have the sinking feeling in my gut when I think of going back to work.

So, if an aspiring CC is reading this, please, do your research, know what you are getting yourself into, be in the clear that joining such a company is an act of statutory support to its values (the above listed exploitaion, bullying and labourers’ rights violations) and spread this information.Our voices need to be heard, and EK’s derogatory policie must be exposed.Consider your options before becoming a part of it.

So thank you again, Dragana, hvala, i jelim ti sve naj-lepse!


17 responses to “A word from a former cabin crew

  • Anonymous

    Many crew have simillar stories

    Like

  • MB

    It is not just Crew. The IT division is sadly run as well. Every 3 years you have to reapply for your job and those who are deemed threatening to management are removed. And if you think crew spends money on useless technology for checking, I can give you so many more from IT. They spend it, it doesn’t work, the move on with a complete loss of money in the millions of AED. Sweet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • Anonymous

    “but I will never have respect for a company and country built on bones, blood and lies.”

    Whoever wrote this article, you have an issue with the Company keep it to that but do not bring MY COUNTRY into it… Don’t like UAE or Dubai, stay wherever you are…

    Like

    • Anonymous

      Many countries have been built on blood, bones and lies. Many of them are developed world countries. The UAE and many other countries certainly face their share of accusations. Perhaps you would like to refute the comments with some evidence as opposed to hyperbole?

      Liked by 1 person

    • anna k

      I wrote the article. And yes, I do not like the UAE, nor have I any intention to return, thank you very much. Anonymous, rest assured.
      Although financial and nature resources allow many unpleasantries such as indentured labour and exploitation to be swept under the rug on a global scale, information is widely available on the Internet. Serious journalists and human rights advocates have researched and published on these topics and sadly, UAE’s name often pops up. Ignoring the problem will not make it disappear.
      But, as the purpose of this blog is to shed some light on the management of EK airline and its shortcomings and not to criticize the UAE, I apologize to the admin of the page. Not for my opinion on Dubai, which is highly unlikely to change, but for allowing it to seep through my story. This is not the place to discuss the country’s legislation or lack thereof, but it is crucial to recognise that many of EK’s human resource management flaws would simply not be allowed in a country that had labourers’ rights protection and respect embedded in its law. The issue stretches far beyond the forced overtime shifts on EKAS staff and overworked cabin crew members. Our struggles seem to be a mere discomfort compared to what’s endured every day by the lower level workers: the crew bus drivers, the labourers who worked in 50 degrees Celsius to build the airport’s new terminal, the aircraft cleaners who are obviously malnourished with hollow cheeks and glazed eyes, all disturbingly happy to accept any food leftovers after the flights, etc.(Technically, I am not certain whether they were employed directly by EK, but it goes to show that things are so entwined it is hard to distinguish where airline problems stop being its own and become problems of the airline’s country of operation.)

      Like

      • Anonymous

        Laws applicable to one country do not necessarily need to be the same as that of another, you have yours, others have theirs. We don’t talk about the laws of other countries so please stop talking about ours. If you are not happy working in the UAE then find a place that will make you happy and move on, simple! The simple fact is that people want to come and live and work here because of the lifestyle on offer.

        My simple advice to everyone aspiring to come and work here, whether it be with EK or any other organisation, do your research, make sure you understand what living/working here means to you (both financially and otherwise) and then make a decision.

        Like

  • Anonymous

    Anna,,
    I do not know where you from or what you do in life,,But here is the thing.
    The whole world is fucked up and built on blood and bones..
    You people talk like your part of the world is perfect.
    Your countries are so fucked up moraly, financialy and ethicaly..you envay our countries with your fucking machin guns and your fucking military force and you call your self a country of freedom and justice…
    you are already out of UAE so stop talking about our country and if you or others do talk about it any more be brave to tell us where you writing from and what is your country and your full name and lets either make a debate about it or we come to whereever you are and talk to you in the language that you people understand..

    Like

    • admindragana

      I don’t know what do you mean when you say “language that you people understand”, I hope it’s not a call for a violence?:) But this is not a debate anymore, it doesn’t lead anywhere, so I would like to kindly ask you both to stop “debating” about countries. We are all citizens of the world. Except in Emirates Airline. Our value there is indeed determined by the passports we hold.

      Like

  • Anonymous

    Then stop bringing UAE into it…

    Like

    • admindragana

      Well, I think you know that this blog is NOT about UAE or Sheikh or UAE people. I made that very clear in my articles. It’s about EK management and we have them from all nationalities.

      I can’t stop people to bring it up in the comments, though. This is why you had your deserved chance to reply. Its all but an on topic debate from that point. Do you agree?

      Like

  • Anonymous

    All I am saying is, people have issues against an organisation so keep it to that. There is no need to bring the Country into the discussion/conversation… Please refrain from doing that…

    Like

  • EXEGHQ

    A very simple question. EK is owned by the ICD (at least officially) It doesn’t follow UAE Labour Law as the management would often tell us it is a semi government company. Why not? Is the federal Labour Law not good enough for EK? Many of us who met HH Sheikh Ahmad liked him and many of us still hold him personally in the highest regard. Including me.The issues stem from the expat managers using and abusing the system and screwing others. I note over 1000 readers per day visiting the site and I wonder how long Clark, Chapman, HRBS (clowns), and many of the other bullies in EKAS and other departments can withstand the scrutiny. Chapman already has a strike in the UK to deal with. As for HRBS, I would love to see those guys apply for another job in their home countries. Their prospective employers can read ALL about them here and in the coming months where their illustrious track records can be seen by all. I enjoyed my time in the UAE. It is great to be home. But, I will have my say in a polite and respectful way and no amount of bullying or implied threats will silence me or the many other people who read and comment here…..

    Like

  • CSA

    worst department would be the CSAs. They pay them low salary and wont upgrade them as cabin crew.

    Like

  • i still got my wings!

    i don’t even know where to begin!

    but all I know that part of the economics is HAPPY CREW HAPPY CUSTOMERS period.

    there’s to much things i want to say i’ll just summerize it in points.

    Racisim (you are only as good as your passport) I’m asian and i have a french cabin crew manager and just the way she looks at me its like I’m a piece of shit not worthy of any attention nor respect. (pardon my french im just painting you a picture)
    Health Care – you should see the EK clinic its like a scene from a war movie. EK is deducting 80 dhs in our salary so they could give us a pack of PANADOL the wonder drug for everything. and they expect to have FIT and HEALTHY crew all the time. And dont get me started on those incompetent Doctors..
    WORKING HOURS – yes we did sign up to have the unconventional working times but come on flying for 5 hous straight only to have 10 hours of rest to fly a 9 hour flight in the same day?… They think that after eating all those crew meals on board that we automatically become SUPERMAN/SUPERWOMAN.. which brings me back to number 2…
    INTIMIDATION – really? this works for kids not adults. They all now that most of us asians support and send money to our families back home and for this we really value our Job. Threathening and intimidating crew that they might loose their job if you got sick because of NUMBER 2 AND 3 How amazing is that?… they give out final warnings like candies

    basically these 4 points are interconnected but there are so many things that these company needs to work on…

    I hope this company change before its too late. When I was small i dreamnt of working here and I did I gave 5 years of my life and I left before it became a nightmare…

    Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A COMMENT

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.