HR manager in charge for intimidating and firing staff in EKAS

In another, shorter, news for today, I finally found the full name of a mysterious “Karen“. The EK Human Resources manager in charge for scaring, intimidating and firing staff in EK Airport Services (ground staff). I guess Emirates has a lot of managers like Karen is, but I don’t know them.

I do know Karen, though. I have met her three times. The first time was when I had my disciplinary meeting. She was in the room with Rami El Samra (my disciplinary meeting manager) when I knocked. They told me to wait a little bit. Karen exited the room and went and Rami El Samra called me to come in for my disciplinary meeting. I never found out about their discussion before I came in, but I find it suspicious and unfair. 

Second time I met Karen it was at the airport hallway, the day I was supposed to be fired. She was walking towards offices with HR manager Maktoom Mohd. Hassan. Mr. Maktoom greeted me, Ms. Karen ignored me.

Third time I met Ms. Karen was at the same day at my line manager’s office (Gavin Elliot-Wilson). I greeted Mr. Gavin with a hand shake, and I greeted Ms. Karen as well, but she was a little bit surprised that I wanted to greet her, so she got confused with her hands and papers. This meeting was the moment when I found out that the person who talked to my manager before the disciplinary meeting was the very same person who fired me – HR manager Karen Galer. The judge, the jury and the executioner.

Ms. Karen was sitting in the office silently, while Mr. Gavin told me that my service is ended. I asked Ms. Karen where I can read about my rights and obligations after service termination, and she got confused, obviously not ready for the questions or knowing about the basics of the service termination in Emirates. She directed me to the End of Service counter in HQ.

I heard a lot about Ms. Karen Galer. I heard how she invites staff to the offices at the airport and intimidates them with close service terminations. She does it with coldness and regardless of anything that staff has to say in their defence. A the same time, if asked something about Emirates rules and policies, she doesn’t know the answers. So, her only job is to tell people that they are fired.

I was seeking for so long to find out who “Karen” is. Please, feel free to describe your experiences with her because she is, by my opinion, typical representative of an inhumane approach to employees in Emirates Airline, especially as she is working as an HR manager – who supposed to be responsible for staff’s well-being.

Ms. Karen is also welcome to comment.

image

20 responses to “HR manager in charge for intimidating and firing staff in EKAS

  • Anonymous

    I have met with Karen a few times and found her to be very professional.

    Liked by 1 person

    • administratordr

      I never said Ms. Karen is not professional or that she is rude. I said that her role is suspicious and mysterious, that she fires people in a cold and inhumane way, calling them to the office and threatening them with approaching service terminations.

      Like

      • Anonymous

        I was responding to your proposition in the blog”.. feel free to describe your experiences with her..”. And my experience is hat she is very professional and actually quite lovely. I love reading your blog, thousands of staff do, but in this case I really think you are ‘playing the man and not the ball’. At the end of the day, Karen and others are just doing the senior managers’ dirty work that they don’t have the guts to do themselves. Perhaps the “coldness” you describe represents her contempt for those calling the shots.

        Like

        • administratordr

          I understand. I actually have no doubts that she can be lovely. But this is exactly my point. Executioners should take responsibility and start to behave in a more warm and humane manner. I have heard about Karen from several people, to some of them I trust very much. Karen shows up at the meetings, she treats everyone like criminals (if they have too many sick days, if they have absence etc). And then she fires people. In my case she could greeted me many times before she fired me, or at least explain me why she was having a meeting with my disciplinary manager just before I had it. But she didn’t. She just showed up and gave me the termination letter. She didn’t even greet me then. I greeted her first. That is cold and arrogant. I am not saying that Ms. Karen is like that, I am saying that she accepted the whole cruel EK manner and fear culture in her sensitive job. And that she should be more aware on how she appears to others, treat them with more respect as she is a Human Resource manager. Her approach now is as she is treating the meat in a slaughter house. Fired, next, fired, next. And she is not the only one. I am speaking about her because she dealt with my case and I have confidence to speak about her behaviour. She is just a representative of whole EK organizational culture.

          No excuses. Either you are warm and humane, either you are not. Being someone’s dirty jobs executioner is not an excuse. And if you can’t deal with your job properly, don’t do it. Take it or leave it (let’s apply EK’s famous motto on managers for once, as one really knows what to expect when they have a job of firing people).

          We are not talking about Karen specifically and personally here, we are talking about organizational culture manifested in Ms. Karen and what should every individual manager do to improve their people approach and social skills.

          Like

          • Nm

            They asked the guards in Auschwitz why they did what they did. Their reason was that they were following orders.

            I know that one can not compare the two but the world has realized that following orders is not an excuse for inhumane treatment.

            They should be held at the same standards as front line employees.

            NM

            Liked by 2 people

  • Anonymous

    She’s not a manager technically by her title. But with the recent departure of two SVPs of HR, we can see how corrupt our HR is.

    Like

  • Nm

    I was at HQ last week and noticed the table next to me at Costa was talking about your blog. I then went upstairs to take care of some routine paperwork and also overheard your blog mentioned.

    You have damaged the Emirates brand despite Karen’s lack of fortitude and professionalism. She is a by-product of the EK culture. Unfortunately, she does not know how to stand up to in humane treatment that should be a prerequisite to any professional HR representative. She should be the most adamant individual arguing for your rightful and contractual EOSB.

    Best of luck,

    NM

    Like

  • Josh

    Despite what she has done, or hasn’t done, I don’t think it’s actually fair of you to post a photograph including her company profile in your blog.

    Like

    • administratordr

      I was thinking about the fairness as well, before I posted it. I have decided to post a full profile of every manager who did something wrong to any of Emirates staff who write to me after all.

      As the matter of fact, I will publish profiles of all the managers mentioned on this blog so far in one article. Why? Because it is not fair what they are doing to employees and it’s not right. And while they remain anonymous they will continue with their wrongdoings because they simply do not care about the company or employees as long as they don’t have to take personal responsibility.

      It was not fair to threaten me with prison. It was not fair not to pay me my EOSB and kick me out of the company after year and a half without a dime in my pocket. It was not fair to give me a warning just because I told my opinion at the training. It was not fair that I got a warning because a passenger molested me in order to be upgraded. It was not fair that I worked more hours than I signed for. It was not fair that I lost my weight because I ate only once in 14 hours. It was not fair that my legal days of rest were taken away from me. It was not not fair that I didn’t sleep for days. It was not fair that for 6 first months of my work in EK I almost didn’t see the sunlight. It is not fair that I got elevated level of thyroid hormones as a result of working long, exhausting and night-morning hours and stress. It is not fair that I returned back home as I was doing absolutely nothing for the last year and a half. It was not fair that my superiors looked down on me, telling me that i have to be honoured to work for Emirates and that I begged for a job. It is not fair that the whole process of my termination was fabricated and false. It is not fair that same managers were my judges, jury and executioners, that I had no chance to defend myself. It was not fair that my HR direct profile was cancelled on my last day at work and that I couldn’t follow up the visa cancellation and termination process and I was kicked out from the airport building. Finally, it’s not fair that I left all of my friends in Dubai without even saying goodbye.

      We should all take the responsibility for our actions by the full name. Everyone knows my name. I am writing this blog under my real name. If I want to find another job, my future employer can find out that I was discharged for “inappropriate behaviour” and that I am writing this blog. Do you think that I have much chances to find another employment with that burden on my back? But I took the responsibility for writing this blog and everything else that I did.

      This is about the personal responsibility and if we have to talk about any kind of fairness we can talk about how it is only fair to take the responsibility for what we do in our lives.

      Like

      • George

        CLAP CLAP CLAP Dragana!!

        Nice and deep explanation.i was thinking “may is not fair to publish the pic of Karen” but your explanation struck me so to much. I will add some sentences – take into account I went to Dubai and I dont work with EK and I have not done it, but last year I wanted se my point of view during all my staying in dubai involved in asking every staff I knew about whether they were happy or not with their jobs :

        Is not fair that that lovely and sweet girl called H. replied me in low voice during our flight (i asked her: is it true that EK squeeze you?) that indeed, they squeeze them “that is why I m leaving next month because i have to fulfill one year contract “. She had a sad feeling in her eyes – by the way H.i felt inlove you have my email -just write me te let me know you are OK. I wish you all The best.
        Is not free that staff can not lodge their friends of family when they want and you have to ask for permission. Company takes out money of their salaries For the accomodation so… What to put son much restrictives rules if ITS THEIR MONEY?
        Is not fair that they play with illusion or Dreams: of 10 cabin crew I asked, just 2 were happy with their jobs and will remain beyond the year (another restrictive condition).
        Is not fair that that other purse I knew usually gets drunk like she does. May you think she like alcohol but afterwards I could grasped after reading here that alcohol and drugs become a way of scaping of the Dubai reality…
        Is not fair to be lie in an open day – this business behaviour is very common and after not fulfilling with they said.
        Is not fair go not fulfilling with labour law. If labour law is really fucked up in EA.. Emirates one is still worst!!

        I could continue but I don t want to beat the bush. I ve been seeking for miss karen on facebook.One of the previous comments said Karen were Nice bla bla bla. Yes! Nice when you fulfill with you duties, you do not provocate problems, when you do not complaint etc etc but what about the situations when you don t? Ouuu Daaamn!! Miss karen and Emirates managers: a good manager always will keep the balance, despite of the situation and mostly with 18000 cabin crew staff… Why to take as personal a displinary action? The only one reply i find and it s Said here: you just transmit the fear because they transmit you fear. Of course there will be nice managers in EK.. But for the rest stop taking advantage of your power. Be humans and empathetic, and try to put you on the skin of your subordinates.

        Dear EK managers: take actions now after making publish Miss karen habits is not correct. Correct is to stop this human resources Policy. Otherwise understand that -check somebody comments in the blog – less people will assist to your OD, or will decline the job after the golden call. Moreover: people will fulfill their year and will leave and you won t have staff enough to fly.

        If you want to be the first World tourism destination you must start to develope something new in HR policies because we find sweatshops Worldwide and it guess that passengers – just openminded and conscious of the World situation – won t like to know that they are supporting your sweatshop country as soon as they get in the plane, after they will find recepcionists, servers, taxi drivers etc etc to finally get up again in the plane with more sweatshop conditions staff. If people now that you sells will go down.. And if people do not go to AD or OP and decline the job… How will you do to sustain your tourism? If, plus, you are unable to manage properly a football match – Madrid -milán, December. Money is not all, so start to look after your people as they deserve. I won t forget that cabin crew. H. She was beatiful and looked like very sad.. Because of your managing. Take into account this blog and all the comments.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Anonymous

      He is free to do that

      Like

  • ND

    Allthough she has not done me any wrong personally, I have met her once during an interview and found her to be stone cold without expression.

    Make her profile and actions known to the public whether its good or bad, this kind of information will follow them long after they leave the company and gives future employers a “real” look at their performance.

    Keep up the good fight Dragana! You would make a hell of a good lawyer!

    ND

    Like

  • Smart people with a start

    Big Mistake giving a position to a racist unqualified uneducated unskilled like new concourse manager SHALINA
    All the new promotions are her friends and spies, Duty officers have recommended there girl friends for positions forgetting that there are senior qualified and experienced staff
    SHALINA cant not write or even construct a sentence that makes sense that is why the staff seated next to her office write/ help her write emails in return for a promotion at the end of it all for to prove it check all staff who have worked at the admin office next to her office all got promoted and asked to be silent
    SHALINA has no management skills and her IQ not of a mature management level person
    Why do supervisors have access to personal details of staff that they share with others showing who has a warning letter and who has not???
    Hr are the only ones who should have access to staff files not uneducated staff promoted just because they are friends and have no qualifications

    Like

    • tagha1

      No my friend, to be a manger in EK, you don’t have to be that “qualified” or to have SKILLS!!! You only have to have the right “people” around you and this is what EK is marvelous in….Each manager is getting his/her power from the “chair” and the support from his spies that means, if this manager was transferred to other department, he would recommend a staff from his loyal team to take care of the job as what he wanted!!!

      For example, Rami has been transferred to other department that has more than 250 employees….Rami has recommended to put Shalina in his previous position to complete the story by having his control by Shalina’s face!!! He played it right…If you are thinking that management did that “change” for a reform policy then allow to say you are absolutely WRONG!! The management did it to muzzle and silent the staff and don’t be amazed if he return back to his position soon.

      Like

  • Anonymous

    HR in this company is so unprofessional they dont know anything. First get some competent HR people to manage so many people problems in this company. The biggest issue I have seen in this company is discrimination of people so wide and open, I am saying this after 19 years working across top corporations. I have seen the height of discrimination against Asians here and it true. You cannot brush this down the carpet and say all is well. They treat Asians like dirt, if you are from Srilanka or China or India or Nepal. this is not good especially since being white does not mean you know it all. Again, sorry my western friends who are also giving feedback on this blog, but there are many instances of foul language used in the workplace, it sounds so cheap…words like f…. and b… used inside the office. So cheap to hear people using these words. It speaks about not just emirates but also the type of people selected inside the company. Well you want to know who uses this type of language it is the brits. They use it like as if they are in their bathrooms. If this management cares for its people it will do something. Use this language in any of the companies in Srilanka, Malaysia India or China. You will be booted and kicked out. It is so low to hear such language used in a professional office environment.

    Like

  • Anonymous

    I read this person’s complaint above and I find that actually the issue is these HR folks Karen ,Gavin ,blur…blur do not know how to handle an employee issues, even so if it is a termination. In fact HR in companies are so approachable even if it is an employee termination. In an disciplinary case HR need to be very approachable, communicative and humane after all employees are working for the company and they are flesh and blood like you. The moment you sit with the reporting line manager and speak it sends out a signal that you are against the employee. Its a wrong approach. Disciplinary meetings should be done with the highest level of respect and concern to the person irrespective of the issue. What happens if the employee does something worse after or before the meeting….will HR be able to handle? No they cannot thats the truth. Looking through this comment, HR folks need good training to handle employee issues particularly disciplinary issues, (be more sensitive to people)

    Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A COMMENT

