Over 27.000 readers in one day

I started to write this blog as an expression of my helplessness after the termination of my service with Emirates Airline (EK).

Before I was fired I was working for year and a half at the airport. The only good things which I have got from EK are my accommodation in the first month (hotel), my check in training and first couple of months of my work there. I will not forget my couple of trips to foreign countries also, but since I paid for those with starvation, money and nerves for waiting on standby tickets and finding replacements to be able to travel in the first place, I give less merit to EK for those. I also cherish my friends from Dubai, but I don’t give EK merit for meeting and keeping them at all.

In the first couple of months I was very happy to be able to meet people from all over the world and to broaden my mind and experience. I was so enthusiastic and positive that I was even cleaning (picking up things in front of the counters) the airport from the litter that passengers leave after their transit through the airport. I was warm and polite, always concerned if my passengers are satisfied and taken care of (yes I was).

17th place among 100 most read WordPress blogs in the world.

17th place among 100 most read WordPress blogs in the world.

After three months I figured out that EK is a black hole for energy and enthusiasm. They only take and give nothing or very little in return. They abuse your enthusiasm for work until you can’t continue anymore. At that point they will show no mercy. They will tell you to leave if you don’t like it. And since they are not the subject of the Federal Labour Law, they will not pay you 3 salaries upon your resignation (as per the law). They will pay you your End of Service Benefit (EOSB) but only if they think you deserve it. I didn’t deserve it since I dared to write an Open Letter to His Highness the Chairman of Emirates Airline. So, managers thought that it was a good idea to call my Embassy and tell them that I can end up in prison for writing that letter.

Before my service was terminated I was called for meetings, punished with warnings for telling my opinion on the training and not wanting to allow that my two days off in a row be taken away from me for forced overtime and forced training. I had a misunderstanding with a passenger who was, by my opinion, aggressive and only made a scene in order to be upgraded to business class (I was very stressed out by that point already). Finally, I asked Divisional Vice President how much is her salary as she was asking me why I signed the contract with Emirates. That contract was violated many times, starting from transgression of my working hours, via refused leave and doing couple of tasks at once, sitting 6 hours without a break, to inhumane shifts of 12 hours per day 4 days in a row and insane “night” shifts which lasted until 9, 10 or 11am. I had problems with my health and sleep.

Over 64.000 people reached on Facebook.

Over 64.000 people reached on Facebook.

The behaviour of most of our superiors and managers was completely unacceptable. Airport lower grade staff did all the hard work. Managers had a job to walk around and act like bosses. Literally. Too many insecure managers can be a nightmare for employees. And overall organizational culture in EK demands from managers to behave ruthless and treat staff like children. If you can’t do it, you are not the manager EK is looking for. And you have to have connections (wastas) of course.

In several occasions this blog was so popular that it made it on the list of 100 most read WordPress blogs in the world. Open letter to His Highness had over 16.000 visitors and around 30.000 views. The same situation happened when EK managers tried to censor the blog by reporting me to WordPress.

New record is breached today. Latest blog post attracted over 27.000 visitors (according to StatCounter website) and over 40.000 views (according to WordPress statistics). Blog is on the 17th place of 100 most read blogs in the world and latest article is on 6th place today.

Over 27.000 visitors today.

Over 27.000 visitors today.

I know that management is furious. I know that they don’t like me. They never answer my e-mails and text messages when I ask for my End of Service benefit which they didn’t pay me. Journalists contacted me, but I never gave an actual interview as my goal is not to bash Emirates in media. My goal is to raise the awareness that we are all becoming cold-blooded machines for making money and that humane approach to business is lost. We are not humans anymore and we lost the battle with the system we created by ourselves.

I wish that instead of threatening me with a prison, someone from EK HR management called and told me that they don’t want me to work for them as I don’t fit their vision of Emirates employee. I wish that they told me that Ms.Anoma Manuel doesn’t like her employees not to be intimidated by her and that she wants me out of Airport Services department. I wish that someone in EK was reasonable enough to shake my hand for goodbye and give me my repatriation ticket and my EOSB. Everything would be different.

Emirates Airline management crossed the line first when they threaten me with the prison. It was madness and it gave me the whole perspective of the extent of the bullying policy that management is conducting.

I may consider shut down of this blog once I get what belongs to me. This is not a threat but a pure truth.

It would be hard to shut it down though as this blog doesn’t belong to me anymore. It belongs to all the people who found comfort from your negligence here, dear managers. I told you before that this could happen. I told you everything, actually. I told you that i have recorded you and I told you that I will go to public. It wasn’t a threat. I was simply honest. It was a plea for you to show some humanity. You have decided to be arrogant instead. You have decided to continue to treat people like they have no brains or skills, to underestimate them. 

6th among 100 most read WordPress articles in the world.

6th among 100 most read WordPress articles in the world.

I know you are angry, but please – turn that anger back to yourselves. You have mishandled the situation. You had one very bad DVP who doesn’t know how to respect her staff and you have decided to protect one incompetent manager over hundreds and thousands of employees. It was your decision and your disposable staff policy.

I have nothing to do with your mistakes and your anger.  

14 responses to “Over 27.000 readers in one day

  • Sodwee

    Dragana, well done again for keeping this blog alive. It takes a fair bit of courage and dedication. All I can say, is KEEP AT IT ! You can count on many of us for support and help whenever, wherever or however it is needed, so just ASK FOR IT WHEN YOU FEEL THE NEED FOR IT. You are very brave for starters, you are determined and you pardon me for the expression ‘KNOW YOUR SHIT’ when it comes to HR/company policies etc… so KEEP AT IT ! Seriously, it needs to be heard, it is obviously being heard, seeing the numbers it is only a matter of time before things blow-up favorably in your direction. And I know you are being closely followed by insiders and outsiders, crew and other people who joined this company. You know you’re not alone in the battle. And I, WE, US, are here to offer full support whenever you need it.

    Best,
    Ben.

    Liked by 1 person

    • admindragana

      Very encouraging and kind message, Ben. Thank you from my heart.

      I am touched by people who suffer and I have no choice now than to continue to walk this path. This blog was my decision and my choice and I do take responsibility for my choices.

      Honestly, I didn’t expect these numbers. Seems that employees are really hurt and that they need the place to vent and share their feelings and thoughts.

      It’s such a shame that something that could be a great company which gives an example to others, turned out to be just an average or below average big company which lost its vision and integrity. It happened so many times so far that it is just sad to watch how humans can’t cope with their fears, desires, urges and responsibilities.

      Thank you again for the support from the very beginning.:)

      Liked by 1 person

    • voiceofthecrew

      I never thought Racial discrimination would happen in open in such a reputed airline but lets face it…That’s the reality…your passport n skin colour matters…even the top is aware of this n they encourage this practice !

      Like

  • Anonymous

    I done a case study on EK a little while back, i found out that it was Mafia run, if you were not friends of the senior people, you got treated very badly and the chafes of getting promoted were very low or non existent…
    But working 12 hrs a day is not wrong, many companies do that worldwide, including airlines.
    EK does not have a union, it could not afford to have one as everybody would go on strike, they get told what they are getting paid and they have to like it or lump it.
    But it is the same everywhere in Dubai, inconsistent managers, got the job as they know somebody, no experience, but unfortunately that is the way life is in Dubai.
    I always say, if you don’t like something or even your job, just leave if you have the qualification you will get a better job elsewhere..
    The same thing happened to me, if you question incompetent people above you, they don’t like it, can’t answer your questions, try to blame somebody else, so they really need to get rid of you and get a YES person in….

    Liked by 1 person

    • admindragana

      I agree that 12 hours can be ok but only if you have the support from your superiors and you all work as a team.

      Having one meal break in 14 hours (including transport) is unacceptable.

      Positive working atmosphere is very important when you work in high stress industries such as airlines. EK has dark and negative working atmosphere.

      A child can manage a company like some EK managers do. No unions, no strikes, no laws so take it or leave it and make me my bonus for my joy only. Tragic.

      Like

  • Ian D.

    Sorry i forgot to put my name to the above…

    Liked by 1 person

  • RandomDude

    Congrats and Pls keep it up. If the media can show some of the light – allow them because there is a reason why you have so many readers but ek needs to change else the foolish managers will win. It is their arrogance that has brought them here. It isn’t necessary to have unions, that is gone – we have educated people and what we need nowadays is respecting our staff, being supportive and giving them what they deserve. EK has numerous incompetent managers and it is clear they are horrible clearly by seeing how many years they have been in the SAME position – if they were so good other companies would have been poaching them now. Most of them are just bitter and arrogant and sooner or later something is going to bite them in their a$$ before you know it. Salute to you dragana and people who are awake will realize the good changes that might (or sadly might not) come to ek – if they don’t change it will become worse. History most certainly repeats itself

    Like

  • Anonymous

    I love the title… “OVER 27.000 READERS IN ONE DAY”

    Yup, that’ll be 5,000 views by tired, under appreciated CC and 22,000 views by the management PRAYING they haven’t been mentioned by name?!?! Hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  • Anonymous

    Draggaana,

    Interesting reading but seriously you should channel your energies into something else. Have you contacted EK and asked to meet,discuss and resolve your issues.

    You seem to say “as my goal is not to bash Emirates in media” but that is exactly what you are doing and its getting you where? Why don’t you just speak with someone at EK and end this, I’m sure they would be more than willing to hear you considering how “famous” you’ve made the company over the last few months with your positive journalism.

    This blog is turning into a soap opera now!!! And my advice to you, if all else fails, I would suggest you get into politics in your home country… You obviously have the ‘gift of the gab’ and a career in politics in my view would be the idea path for you.

    Best of luck and keep writing!!! This blog helps keep me entertained on days when i am really bored!!!

    Like

    • admindragana

      So, would you like me to stop or to continue?:) You are a little bit confusing, so it seems to me that politics is for you rather than for me since politicians are confusing and contradictory.:) I was very clear that I have contacted EK and that nobody wants to speak with me. Go figure…

      Glad that I am entertaining you. What is the world without a laugh?:)

      Like

    • admindragana

      Maybe I should ask EK to employ me in their Public Relations? Ups, it’s too late for that now, they already kicked me out without me making any damage to the company except always coming to overtime when they needed me.

      Like

    • V-dog

      Dragana don’t be fazed by the comments from ignorant idiots such as the one above. He/she is no doubt management or “management wannabe” and is clearly hurting by the excellent work you’re doing on this blog. Keep doing what you’re doing because it seems you’re one of a handful of people who has the balls to stand up against unfairness in the workplace and modern day bullying.

      Liked by 1 person

  • skypara

    Dragana,
    I came across your blog by accident but started reading and the more I went through the more shocked I was. I used to fly as cabin crew for EK between 2006 and 2008. At that time EK had image of posh and high class airline, with arguably one of the best products in the industry. My first interview was in 2004, but due to some contractual issues with the local recruiting company, the interview result was canceled. Later same year I got a limited time offer for ground staff position at Dubai airport, with as they said, an “option” to move to cabin crew at later stage. The salary offer in 2004 was 3000 AED! I can not believe that 10 year later you guys were offered the same salary, considering that for this period Dubai has grown to be in the top ten most expensive cities worldwide. I rejected the offer, as my only interest with Emirates was the actual “fly-see-the-world” part of the deal. I had second interview in 2006 and was hired as cabin crew.

    Although my story in general was not sad, between 2006 and 2008 I witnessed many changes within EK, mainly the beginning of the “report” system, the increased workload, the switch from a personalized to a staff number relations and many more. I witnessed the jump to the new HQ, which contributed to the massive growth of overexcited managerial staff. All of them trying to prove themselves came with ideas, some were pure demonstration people’s servility with no positive benefits. I witnessed many of the qualified staff go, because they were fed up with the all growing number of restrictions, penalties, insane rosters, and last but not least the spreading fear. Many of these people were seniors who used to protect their staff. Eventually in 2008 I handed my resignation as well.

    On your story: I am extremely impressed by your blog, the language (I know English is not your primary, but clearly you can express your thoughts way better than many native speakers), the line you’ve taken to spread the word, and maybe help EK get out of their managerial limbo. Last but not lest, I am impressed by the courage you have shown to stand up and ask for your rights. You are heard and it appears you have poked deep in this pile of dried out crap. And I’m sure your effort give a ray of light in the hearts of our ex-colleagues.

    Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • admindragana

      Dear skypara, thank you for this great explanation of what happened with EK. I will publish it as a separate article.

      Thank you for your understanding and kind words as well.

      All the best to you too.:)

      Like

LEAVE A COMMENT

