Emirates Airline Foundation

After all the meetings, interrogations, intimidations, warnings, hearings, health problems, sleepless nights, suspension, prison threats and being send home without any money and my end of service money not being paid to me and Edgar’s story (Edgar is a passenger who is currently kept at the airport by EK managers until he gives them the money they ask for) I was wondering if Edgar and I can apply for some help from Emirates Airline Foundation? After all, our lives (and lives of many other employees and passengers) are heavily affected by EK managers’ unaccountable behaviour.

I have received this e-mail some time ago. I’ve decided to publish it today. I guess I find it very ironical that EK has a charity foundation and yet they rob their own employees and passengers.

Hi Dragana,

Great blog and I hope you continue from strength to strength.

Many cc and now passengers are asking questions about the Emirates Airlines Foundation.

Here are some quotes from the website:

A board of directors, made up of senior Emirates Group management, decides on what projects to target with funds, which our passengers and staff help build through their kind donations.

Who are these people? Why aren’t they named? What are the criteria for project selection?

The projects, either existing charities or new initiatives, are located primarily at Emirates’ destinations where local Emirates staff volunteers can participate and oversee their management, along with any assistance local communities may provide.

I don’t know one member of EK staff that has been involved. Nor do any of my colleagues…….. Why do they choose Emirates destinations? Are they using donations to promote EK?

We are established by the permission of the Dubai Government and the accounts are audited by internal and external auditors. Our goal is to use 95 per cent of donated funds exclusively for the children, with five per cent allocated to administration costs.

Who are the internal auditors? Who are the external auditors? Names? Our “goal” is?? So do you spend 95% and use 5% on admin or what? Where are the accounts for us to see?

The use of funds is regularly audited by the Emirates Group Finance department and the Internal Audit department, while the foundation’s accounts are also audited by an external firm.

Who in EK? What is the name of the Audit firm? Is it a respected international firm?

All very mysterious,

Other airlines are more transparent. Why can’t EK be the same and tell people where THEIR money is going???

Thanks again for a great blog and many of us applaud your efforts.

Best regards

E-mail about EK foundation

E-mail about EK foundation

15 responses to “Emirates Airline Foundation

  • EXEGHQ

    Oh no. Please don’t tell me that they would stoop so low. I really pray to God that the money has gone to the people it was meant to. I always heard rumours about this when I was there. I tried not to believe them. I wonder if it is true? Dragana, I will try to find who in EK is responsible for Finance. I then propose you contact their governing body and see how they react. Let us hope everyone of the audit team are clean………

    Like

    • admindragana

      Well, I hope there is someone to investigate this, it’s not my job to do it. I was just wondering if I can apply for some help, given the fact that I was fired out of the blue and sent home without a dime in my pocket. This is what charity organisations do, isn’t it?

      Like

  • Anonymous

    Correct me if i am wrong, but if you are fired you are not entitled to any EOSB?

    Like

    • EXEGHQ

      A company that fires somebody doesnt usually ask for that person’s passport to hold unless they wish to do something rather malicious. Labour rules in Dubai are not exactly a shining light that other countries follow. I really wonder if you are a troll or EK Management. I doubt even EK management can really be that stupid to try to comment here. They haven’t got a leg to stand on. Some serious numbers of people are viewing this site daily. I do like your style though. Perhaps you can ask your colleague Sweety Chauhan for her take on EOSB? I guess she didn’t have any serious legal argument to take the blog down. Please note the eariy sense of fear in EGHQ. Who will be next to be thrown to the lions?

      Like

    • admindragana

      Yes, you are wrong. I am entitled to EOSB. I even have a written confirmation that I am entitled to it from HQ. There are conditions under which you do receive EOSB when fired (basically, you will always get your money if you didn’t commit a crime or damage a company) when fired and I fulfil all of them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • admindragana

        Here is the confirmation of my entitlement to EOSB. Yes, I did write Ms. Michelle Carswell (immediately after my return home) to give my money to someone who really needs it, but since she didn’t answer that e-mail and I doubt they gave my money to someone who needs it, I’ve changed my mind.

        Like

  • Iluvek

    I hope that the EK troll will come back to you and state that she will Mail Amanda and ask her to pay you the EOSB that Amanda stated you are due. As she states that EK are not subject to UAE Labour Law, I wonder if they will honour their word. Heavy on the sarcasm. Another excellent own goal by the boys and girls in the Ivory tower.

    Like

    • Iluvek

      I wonder why EK troll hasn’t commented on the issue of The Emirates Airlines Foundation?? I guess they wanted to cover up anyone asking tough questions. LOL.

      Like

      • admindragana

        They don’t answer questions and if you ask a question you get fired. Anyway, I have never revealed this information, but immediately after the open forum I had a chat with HR manager Maktoom. He told me then “You are finished”. So, the whole farce with disciplinary hearing, suspension and termination appeal was a staged circus. I was only asking for dignified living conditions for grade 4 EKAS staff.

        I still don’t understand how managers don’t feel embarrassed by everything they do, having half-slaves work for their salaries and benefits. This is what makes me really angry even 4 months after everything happened. They are completely aware of lower grades’ shitty lives and yet they still continue to enjoy their lives like they deserve it. They obviously see only dirt when they look at their employees.

        I think management should use the money from this charity to improve the lives of their staff. They don’t give them living salaries anyway, so why not collect money from the passengers to help endangered Emirates employees? Only if this charity money actually goes to charity, that is.

        Like

  • Anonymous

    Was just asking, no need to attack me. I thought you are not entitled..

    Like

  • EXEGHQ

    Dragana, if you question the inspired wisdom (bullying) of an EK manager then you ARE attacking them!!

    Like

  • iluvek

    Threats, intimidation and illegally witholding money are the tools of choice of HRBS and other managers. Violence without “violence” I really pray the learn. Their behaviour detracts from so many wonderful staff. EK could be the best airline in the world. These people are shameless and I am so glad that they are named and shamed….

    Liked by 1 person

  • tagha1

    Things are getting cleared up and revealed…don’t you think so!!! Well, there were a lot of questions of where “donations” would go at the end as every passenger has the right to know this. When I was working for EK, I tried to find the proper answer for this illusory question but I couldn’t however, I’ve found this explanation through some staff which I believe is the most appropriate…

    The donation envelopes that are put with every food tray in every EK flight and CC are making some announcements to encourage passengers to use them for donation. Lets say the average from each flight is about $20-30 and lets say roughly that we have about 100 flight per day (100 flights going out of Dubai and same coming to Dubai) so, by simple calculations the result would be $4000-6000 of pure money for charity in just a single day again, the numbers are just roughly calculated and it represents the minimum!!

    Where the money goes!!

    EK is a “big” and financially very strong airline company, to attract the people and passengers admiration…EK always rushes for helping the disaster areas as a result of hurricanes, floods and natural disasters and helping children in the poor areas by using the “charity money” however, EK always tries to hide this fact as it would make a huge publicity to show that it financed the whole thing from A to Z from its own “pocket”!! Not only this, EK would use the money to buy from its own souvenirs embossed and printed with “Fly Emirates” to give them to those people actually this would have great advantages such as marketing without spending a penny on it and a very great business to sell and get rid of its long-possessed items and products at the displayed prices.

    Like

LEAVE A COMMENT

